UniUploader not updating siggen

Support and feedback for UniUploader
UniUploader requires microsoft .net runtimes!

UniUploader not updating siggen

Postby robweeks » Wed Jul 05, 2006 2:02 pm

As many of u will have noticed the release of roster 1.7 has stopped UniUploader from updating siggen Avatars and Signatures. The best i understand it the web browser now must visit the URL of the avatar and signature, this will force Siggen to create the image and save to server. Unfortunately UniUploader cannot visit this URL.

I devised a very crude fix for this, as i just wanted them to update. Instead of the Client (UniUploader or web browser) loading the URL, i have forced siggen to load the url upon the trigger. This will update your profiles only, it won’t refresh the who’s guild list. If a guild member wants his avatar updated, he/she must do it themselves.

This isn’t ideal by any means, as it is placing un-necessary strain on the web server, but until the problem is fixed its usable.

In roster/addons/siggen/trigger.php find:
Code: Select all
// Run this on a character update
if( $mode == 'char' )
{
   if( $SigGenConfig['signature']['trigger'] )
   {
      print 'Saving Sig-[ <img src="'.$roster_conf['roster_dir'].'/addons/siggen/sig.php?etag=0&name='.urlencode(utf8_decode($member_name)).'" width="75" height="16" alt="" /> ]';
   }

   if( $SigGenConfig['avatar']['trigger'] )
   {
      print ' Saving Avatar-[ <img src="'.$roster_conf['roster_dir'].'/addons/siggen/av.php?etag=0&name='.urlencode(utf8_decode($member_name)).'" width="19" height="16" alt="" /> ]';
   }
}


Replace with: (change YOUR URL.com to your domain)
Code: Select all
// Run this on a character update
if( $mode == 'char' )
{
   if( $SigGenConfig['signature']['trigger'] )
   {
      $temp = fopen('YOUR URL.com/roster/addons/siggen/sig.php?etag=0&name='.$member_name, "r");
      print 'Saving Sig-[ <img src="'.$roster_conf['roster_dir'].'/addons/siggen/sig.php?etag=0&name='.urlencode(utf8_decode($member_name)).'" width="75" height="16" alt="" /> ]';
      fclose($temp);
   }

   if( $SigGenConfig['avatar']['trigger'] )
   {
      $temp = fopen('http://www.YOUR URL.com/roster/addons/siggen/av.php?etag=0&name='.$member_name, "r");
      print ' Saving Avatar-[ <img src="'.$roster_conf['roster_dir'].'/addons/siggen/av.php?etag=0&name='.urlencode(utf8_decode($member_name)).'" width="19" height="16" alt="" /> ]';
      fclose($temp);
   }
}


Do not make this edit for the Guild update, or the script will be loading all the images of the guild into it. This is 2 much data. But i dont see a problem with just loading the avatar and signature for the current profile.

Would like to stress once more, this is a temp fix, if you dont care if siggen is updating with UniUploader, just ignore this post

Any response would be appreciated.
robweeks
WR.net Apprentice
WR.net Apprentice
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 8:17 pm

UniUploader not updating siggen

Postby Anaxent » Wed Jul 05, 2006 3:17 pm

this will only work if your host allows fopen()
User avatar
Anaxent
WoWRoster.net Dev Team
WoWRoster.net Dev Team
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Phoenix, Az

UniUploader not updating siggen

Postby MattM » Thu Jul 06, 2006 6:15 am

nice fix, im sure a lot of people who have fopen enabled will appreciate this.
Last edited by MattM on Thu Jul 06, 2006 6:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
MattM
UA/UU Developer
UA/UU Developer
Gimpy Developer
Gimpy Developer
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 9:53 pm
Location: USA

UniUploader not updating siggen

Postby ScratchMonkey » Thu Jul 06, 2006 5:44 pm

If fopen is disallowed, see the comments on the fopen documentation page for a number of alternatives, such as curl_exec and fsockopen:

http://us2.php.net/manual/en/function.fopen.php
User avatar
ScratchMonkey
WR.net Expert
WR.net Expert
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 4:32 pm
Location: San Pablo, CA

UniUploader not updating siggen

Postby robweeks » Thu Jul 06, 2006 8:00 pm

I doubt free hosts will support it, but if its a paying provide u will prob have access (i do).

fopen() isnt the only function that will work, if u browse the php manual...

If fopen is disallowed, see the comments on the fopen documentation page for a number of alternatives, such as curl_exec and fsockopen:

us2.php.net/manual/en/....fopen.php

(Thanks Scratch monkey)

... then any method that can load a URL into a file should work.
ImageImage
robweeks
WR.net Apprentice
WR.net Apprentice
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 8:17 pm

Re: UniUploader not updating siggen

Postby Torios » Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:22 pm

Appreciation? Yessir!
Thanks a lot!
Torios
WR.net Apprentice
WR.net Apprentice
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 12:48 am

Re: UniUploader not updating siggen

Postby Didanix » Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:20 pm

Hmm, for some reason my character uploading stopped completely. No error anywhere (atleast no visible one). I'm using the latest roster, UU & CharacterProfiler.
Didanix
WR.net Apprentice
WR.net Apprentice
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:10 am

Re: UniUploader not updating siggen

Postby Nexia » Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:50 pm

robweeks wrote:I doubt free hosts will support it, but if its a paying provide u will prob have access (i do).

fopen() isnt the only function that will work, if u browse the php manual...

If fopen is disallowed, see the comments on the fopen documentation page for a number of alternatives, such as curl_exec and fsockopen:

us2.php.net/manual/en/....fopen.php

(Thanks Scratch monkey)

... then any method that can load a URL into a file should work.


Can you put the code for the hosts who can't work in fopen()

Would be nice, Thanks
Last edited by Nexia on Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nexia
WR.net Apprentice
WR.net Apprentice
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:37 pm

UniUploader not updating siggen

Postby Sunstrider » Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:38 pm

I would also like to see the non fopen code, many thanks.
Sunstrider
WR.net Apprentice
WR.net Apprentice
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 2:23 am

UniUploader not updating siggen

Postby zanix » Wed Jan 17, 2007 4:06 am

I'm implementing some code in SigGen v0.2.1 that will enable the use of UniUploader to generate images
There will be an option in SigGen Config -> Main Settings -> Save Images panel called "UniUploader Fix"

You must have 'allow_url_fopen' enabled on your server

As of right now, I cannot get fsockopen or curl to generate the images, sorry
Read the Forum Rules, the WiKi, and Search before posting!
WoWRoster v2.1 - SigGen v0.3.3.523 - WoWRosterDF
User avatar
zanix
Admin
Admin
WoWRoster.net Dev Team
WoWRoster.net Dev Team
UA/UU Developer
UA/UU Developer
 
Posts: 5546
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 8:29 am
Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho
Realm: Doomhammer (PvE) - US


Return to UniUploader

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron