New Here: Interested in your views

General chat forum
DO NOT post bugs/feature requests for WoWRoster, PvPLog, UniUploader, or UniAdmin here

Postby illonavamp » Wed Jan 17, 2007 6:47 am

Hi all,

I'm new in these here parts.

I have just formed a guild and am developing that, but I was just curious to know everyone's 'take' on the recent spate of account thefts that have been going on.

I keep hearing that it's due to addons etc but really it's impossible to run a guild 'well' without addons in my opinion if you're going to have a web site with it.

My partner got his account hacked and all his 60's stripped to the bone, so we both removed all our addons and everything else that we thought might put us at risk and locked down our computers tighter than a gnats bum.

I'm just peeking back over the fence now and reinstalling addons with a view to eventually having a fully-functional web site with guild info and dkp on it.

Just curious to know everyone elses view on this. Thoughts?
illonavamp
WR.net Apprentice
WR.net Apprentice

Postby bbj911 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:36 am

The addons themselves cannot cause problems. They might be lua files, but blizzard have limited the lua implementation. So i seriously boubt that anything can be pilfered using mods alone.

The issue comes in with mods that install via an exe. THAT i would consider a serious threat and if a mod is not offered without having to use the EXE it will not be installed on my machine.

The other place is of course websites, and worldorwar.net seems to get targetted a lot. If your dont have a script blocker of some sort running on youre machine youre bound to get infected.
bbj911
WR.net Apprentice
WR.net Apprentice

Postby robojerk » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:20 am